The Board & The University Collegium

The Board is the highest decision-making body at the University. The University also has an international advisory board, which supports the Board and rector in research issues related to strategy, research policy, the University’s profile and the assessment of the quality of research in various fields.

The Board is the supreme decision-making body of the University of Helsinki. The tasks of the Board include:

  • deciding on the central objectives of the university’s operations and finances, the strategy and steering principles
  • deciding on the university's operative and financial planning as well as on the budget, and prepare the financial statements
  • controlling the university's asset management and use, unless the Board has transferred the authority to the Rector
  • organising accounting and asset management monitoring
  • approving agreements that are significant or principled for the university, and issuing statements on major university-related matters of principle
  • on behalf of the university, approving a performance agreement with the Ministry of Education
  • appointing the Rector(s) and deciding on their work distribution, and discharging the Rector if there is an acceptable and justified reason for that, taking into account the nature of the assignment
  • approving the University Statutes and other regulations for general organisation, and deciding on the university's operational structure
  • making a proposal to the Ministry of Education on changing the university's educational responsibility
  • deciding on the number of students accepted to the university.

The Rector is responsible for the preparation, presentation and implementation of matters processed by the Board.

The Board of the University of Helsinki 2018-2021

The chairman of the University Board is President Tarja Halonen and the vice-chairman is Director Teija Tiilikainen.


Jukka Kekkonen, Faculty of Law
Markku Kulmala, Faculty of Science
Kalle Saksela, Faculty of Medicine

Researchers, teachers and other staff

Elisa Hyytiäinen, Service coordinator, University services
Thomas Wallgren, Professor (fixed term), Faculty of Arts


Antti Kähkönen, Bachelor of Laws, Student of Science in Economics and Business, Student of Theology
Sebastian Österman

 External to the University

Tarja Halonen, President
Ilona Herlin, Docent
Tommi Laitio, Executive Director, Culture and Leisure
Ilona Riipinen, Professor
Jussi Pajunen, MBA
Teija Tiilikainen, Director

Contact information

Secretary of the Board of Directors
Minna Frimodig
tel. +358 2941 22799
PO Box 33 (Yliopistonkatu 4)
00014 University of Helsinki

The Helsinki university collegium has 50 members: professors have 20 members, the university's education and research staff and other staff have a total of 15 members, and students have 15 members. The term of the university collegium is 4 years; however, the student members are chosen for a two-year term. Provisions on the election of the members of the university collegium are laid down in the election statutes.

The tasks of the university collegium include:

  • deciding on the number of Board members, and the term of office duration of the Board and its members
  • appointing members from outside the university community to the university Board
  • confirming the university community groups' selections as Board members
  • releasing Board members from their positions based on a proposal by the Board
  • appointing the university auditors
  • confirming the university's financial statements and annual report, as well as decide on granting a discharge from liability for Board members and the Rector
  • deciding on filing an action for damages against a Board member, the Rector, and the auditor.
  • appointing the Chancellor
  • convening at least twice a year to discuss significant matters dealing with the entire university

Contact information

Secretary to the University Collegium
Juha Hurme
Tel. +358 2941 22021
P.O. Box 3
00014 University of Helsinki

The University of Helsinki has an international strategic advisory board appointed by the Board. The mission of this advisory board shall be to support the University Board and rector in research issues related to strategy, research policy, the University's profile and the assessment of the quality of research in various fields. (Regulations of the University of Helsinki, 12 §)

The Board of the University of Helsinki has confirmed the following to members of the International Advisory Board of the University of Helsinki:

Professor Sally Mapstone, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of St. Andrews, UK, Chair of the International Advisory Board
Professor Simone Buitendijk, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leeds, UK
Professor Michael Göring, CEO of ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius, Germany
Professor Steven E. Hyman, Director, Stanley Center for Psychiatric Research at Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, USA
Dr Peter Riedler, Vice-Rector for Finances, Resources and Location Development, University of Graz, Austria
Professor Milena Žic Fuchs, Full Professor of Linguistics at University of Zagreb, Croatia
Professor Eva Åkesson, Vice-Chancellor of Uppsala University, Sweden
Professor Madara Ogot, University of Nairobi, Kenya
Dr Lykke Friis, former Prorector for Education, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

In all IAB matters please contact the Head of Planning Dr. Markus Kajanto.