The Doctoral Programmes of the Doctoral School in Environmental, Food and Biological Sciences invite applications for UH-funded


for a maximum of a 4-year-period starting in 2021:

The duties of a doctoral candidate employed with a UH-funded position consist of research and formal training, with the aim of completing a doctoral degree according to the candidate’s research and study plans. In addition, the duties may include teaching and other tasks. The duration of the employment contract depends on the phase of the appointee´s thesis. The salary for the doctoral candidate position is based on level 2–4 of the job requirement scheme for teaching and research personnel in the salary system of Finnish universities.

Applicants are expected to have a relevant academic degree in a field suitable for their thesis project in environmental, food and biological sciences. The degree must be obtained before the starting date of the funded position. A successful applicant is capable of and highly motivated for working towards the doctoral degree in accordance with the proposed research plan, and has good problem solving, troubleshooting, and analytical skills. In addition, the applicant should be fluent in English, have good interpersonal, and written and oral communication skills, and be able to work independently as well as within an international team.

For specific eligibility criteria and application information, please visit the web pages of the doctoral programmes of interest.

Applications are invited online beginning September 1, 2020 through September 15, 2020 at 15.00 EEST. Applications are submitted via the AAVA e-application form and evaluated by the doctoral programmes. Links to all forms needed to complete the application will be available on the doctoral programmes’ web pages when the call opens. Applications submitted after the deadline will not be reviewed.

For further information:

See the Instructions for doctoral candidates: Financial support for thesis completion

De­cision on salary po­s­i­tions start­ing in 2020:
Chi-Chuan Chen (DPPS)
Filipe Chichorro (LUOVA)
Kukka Kyrö (LUOVA)
Tuuli Parviainen (DENVI)
Sun Yan (DENVI)
Marjo Ruusunen (FoodHealth)
Stella Thompson (LUOVA)

De­cision on salary po­s­i­tions start­ing in 2021:
Rabbil Bhuiyan (AGFOREE)
Irene Conenna (LUOVA)
Lassi Heinilä (MBDP)
Tuomas Kahma (DENVI)
Sinikka Robinson (LUOVA)
Yuan Wang (DENVI)
Marie Verkola (FoodHealth)