The institute consists of the Criminological unit, focusing on research of criminality, the Legal Policy Research unit specializing in the research of judicial conditions, legislation and the interaction between law and the society, and the Criminal Sanctions unit, which provides research on punishment and the sanctions system.

Director of the institute

Kimmo Nuotio, professor

Janne Kivivuori, Professor
Antti Latvala, Associate Professor

Mikko Aaltonen, Research Director
Aurora Järvinen, Doctoral Researcher
Markus Kaakinen, Postdoctoral Researcher
Ilari Kolttola, Planning Officer
Sophie Litvak, Doctoral Researcher
Ilona Nissinen, Technical Assistant
Matti Näsi, University Lecturer
Anna Raeste, Project Planner
Karoliina Suonpää, Postdoctoral Researcher
Mika Sutela, Postdoctoral Researcher
Maiju Tanskanen, Doctoral Researcher
Teemu Vauhkonen, Doctoral Researcher
Janne Vepsäläinen, Project Planner
Emma Villman, Doctoral Researcher

Linda Anning, Research Assistant
Laura Heiskanen, Research Assistant
Teemu Kononen, Research Assistant
Minka Ohtonen, Research Assistant
Essi Pentikäinen, Research Assistant

Kati Rantala, Research Director
Riikka Koulu, Assistant Professor

Noora Alasuutari, Doctoral Researcher
Kaijus Ervasti, University Researcher (on a leave of absence)
Terhi Esko, Postdoctoral Researcher
Aino Jauhiainen, Doctoral Researcher
Inka Järvikangas, Project Planner
Karoliina Majamaa, University Researcher
Kati Nieminen, Postdoctoral Researcher
Yaira Obstbaum, Postdoctoral Researcher
Laura Sarasoja, Doctoral Researcher
Virve Toivonen, University Lecturer (on leave of absence)

Minni Teerikangas, Research Assistant
Anton Lagrillière, Research Assistant