HCAS Board

The Board of the Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies comprises nine (9) members, each of whom has a deputy. Of the members, seven (7) shall represent the research fields and academic leadership of the City Centre Campus. The Collegium staff elects one member and his or her deputy from among themselves. The University of Helsinki Student Union elects one postgraduate student member and his or her deputy from among themselves for a term of two years.

The Rector of the University appoints the members of the Board. The Board elects a vice chair from amongst its members.

Members of the Board in 1 April 2018- 31 March 2022

Member | Deputy Member
Vice Rector Jouko Väänänen (Chair) | Director Ritva Dammert
Vice Dean Petri Luomanen | Vice Dean Elina Vuola
Vice Dean Taina Pihlajarinne | University Lecturer Ari Hirvonen
Vice Dean Paavo Pylkkänen | Professor Matti Miestamo
Vice Dean Kristiina Kumpulainen | Professor Erika Löfström
Dean Johanna Mäkelä | Dean Hannu Nieminen
Vice Dean Petri Ylikoski | Vice Dean Juri Mykkänen
University Researcher Hanna-Riikka Roine | University Researcher Ritva Palmén
Student Jussi Ikkala | Student Matthias Aulbach