Jane and Aatos Erkko Visiting Professor in Studies on Contemporary Society

The aim of the Jane and Aatos Erkko Visiting Professorship in Studies on Contemporary Society is to focus on cultural and social research themes with a topical significance for contemporary society and social justice. The professorship was established in 2008 as the result of a 2.92 million Euros donation from the Jane and Aatos Erkko Foundation. The donation, under the discretion of the University of Helsinki Funds, will maintain the professorship and a residence for the holder of the post.

Jane and Aatos Erkko Professor, January 2022 – July 2022:

Ole Waever, Professor of International Relations at the University of Copenhagen


Previous Jane and Aatos Erkko Professors:

2020-2021: Karen Knop (University of Toronto)

2019-2020: Molly Andrews (University of East London)

2018-2019: Jane Cowan (University of Sussex)

2016-2018: Ann Phoenix (University of London)

2015-2016: Susanne Soederberg (Queen's University)

2014-2015: Sigridur Thorgeirsdottir (University of Iceland)

2013-2014: Joel Robbins (University of Cambridge)

2010-2012: Alan Warde (The University of Manchester)

2009-2010: Stephen Gill (York University)