The administration of the Faculty of Social Sciences has been divided into three strands each led by a vice dean: the disciplines, the research units, and the degree programmes. These administrative strands consist of altogether thirteen disciplines, four research units and thirteen Bachelor’s or Master’s programmes.

The Swedish School of Social Science is an independent unit at the University of Helsinki operating in close collaboration with the Faculty of Social Sciences.