The faculty is headed by the Dean, who is elected for four years at a time. The Dean oversees the work of the faculty and is responsible for its finances, general activities, and implementing the HR administration in line with the university’s staff policy, in cooperation with the Head of Development and the administrative managers. The departments of the faculty are managed by the Heads of Departments, who are elected for four years at a time.

Kai Nordlund
Professor of Computational Materials Physics 

  • Head of the Faculty
  • Bilingual affairs


Deans secretary, Service Coordinator Taina Hardén 
tel. 0294150502, 0503159915

P.O. 64 (Gustaf Hällströmin katu 2)
00014 University of Helsinki

The University of Helsinki has an organisational structure consisting of three levels. The highest – the University level – includes the University Collegium, the Board, the Rector, the Chancellor and University Services. The second level encompasses the faculties and independent institutes, while the third comprises the faculty departments and institutes.