The Faculty is led by the dean. The dean selects vice-deans to support him or her in the development of the Faculty, the implementation of the Strategic Plan of the University and the promotion of interdepartmental cooperation as determined by the dean. During the operating period 2018–2021, the Faculty had three vice-deans, whose primary responsibility areas encompassed research, teaching and community relations.


Dean Faculty of Medicine, University of Helsinki
Professor of Glycobiology
Clinical Microbiology, Helsinki University Hospital
Fields of science:  Biomedicine, Cancers

Faculty of Medicine
P.O 63 (Haartmaninkatu 8)
00014 University of Helsinki
tel. 0294125110

Secretary Päivi Mulari-Matikainen
Haartman institute, Haartmaninkatu 3, B4 floor
P.O 21 (Haartmaninkatu 3)
00014 University of Helsinki
tel. 0294126414
gsm. 0504482794

Fields of science: Basic Medicine, Clinical medicine, Neurosciences

Faculty of Medicine
Clinicum, Department of Psychiatry
P.O 22 (Välskärinkatu 12)
00014 University of Helsinki

Field of Science: Biomedicine

Faculty of Medicine
Clinicum, Department of Medicine
P.O 21 (Haartmaninkatu 3)
00014 University of Helsinki
tel. 0294126597
gsm. 0505560786

Field of science: Public health care science, environmental and occupational health

Faculty of Medicine
Clinicum, Department of Public Health
P.O 20 (Tukholmankatu 8 B)
00014 University of Helsinki
tel. 0294140626
gsm. 0503112461


Department of Diagnostics and Therapeutics
Field of science Surgery, anesthesiology, intensive care, radiology


Department of Pharmacology
Field of science Biomedicine

Research Programs Unit

Associate Professor
Department of Medical and Clinical Genetics
Field of science Biomedicine, Neurosciences

The Faculty Council is a multi-member administrative body. Under the direction of the dean, the Faculty Council enhances the overall operations of the Faculty in accordance with the University’s operational and financial targets, the Strategic Plan of the University and the Faculty’s target programme. The Faculty Council of the Faculty of Medicine includes the dean and 18 members and their deputies. The term of the Faculty Council is four years; however, the student representatives are selected for a term of two years. The Faculty Council has appointed various committees to prepare matters for decision-making.

Composition of the Faculty Council in 2018-2021

Risto Renkonen officiate as a Chairman of the Faculty Council and Raija Selivuo as a secretary.

  Member Deputy Member
Professors professor Janne Backman professor Ilkka Ojanperä
  professor Olli Carpén professor Matti Airaksinen
  professor Erkki Isometsä professor Juha Sinisalo
  professor Tea Lallukka professor Leo Tjäderhane
  professor Juha Pekkanen professor Sirpa Leppä
  professor Pauli Puolakkainen professor Taina Autti
  professor Anu Wartiovaara professor Timo Otonkoski
  academy professor Katri Räikkönen-Talvitie professor Kimmo Alho
Other teachers and researchers and other staff laboratory technician Heli Grym laboratory engineer Solja Eurola
  university lecturer Maarit Hölttä-Vuori clinical instructor Vedran Stefanovic
  academy research fellow Outi Kilpivaara associate professor Liisa Kauppi
  project accountant Marja-Liisa Köppä coordinator Maarit Raukola
  university lecturer Nina Peitsaro university instructor Jari Lipsanen
Students (January 2020 onwards) Pinja Rantama Ville Liu
  Enni Rasmus Kaisa Krabbe
  Nadja Smedman Silja Siukkonen
  Andreas Stenbäck Fredrik Ahlström
  Henri Vasara Linnea Hurri

The Fac­ulty Coun­cil’s meet­ings and minutes

The Faculty Council's meetings in 2021:
Jan 26, Feb 16, Mar 16, Apr 20, May 18, Jun 15, Aug 24, Sep 2, Oct 19, Nov 16, Dec 14

The minutes of the meetings are available on the Flamma (log in using your University username and password). The minutes are published once the chair and secretary of the meeting have signed them. A request to read the minutes can be submitted to the Faculty Council’s secretary. Extracts from the minutes will be sent to the relevant parties after the minutes have been examined.