There are nearly 30 professors at the Department. The professors specialise into various subareas of algorithms, artificial intelligence, networks and software research.


Position Specialisation areas Research group
Luigi Acerbi Assistant Professor Machine learning, probabilistic inference, computational cognitive neuroscience Machine and Human Intelligence
Dorota Glowacka Assistant Professor Exploratory search, interactive information retrieval, user modelling Exploratory Search and Personalisation (ESP)
Keijo Heljanko Professor

Big data, parallel computing, distributed systems

Parallel and Distributed Computing
Antti Honkela Associate Professor Machine learning, probabilistic inference, computational biology, privacy Probabilistic Inference, Privacy and Computational Biology (PROBIC)
Pan Hui Professor Data science Systems and Media
Aapo Hyvärinen Professor Machine learning, computational neuroscience Neuroinformatics
Petri Ihantola Associate Professor, Director of MOOC Centre    
Giulio Jacucci Professor Interactive systems, HCI Uniquitous Interaction (UIx)
Matti Järvisalo Associate Professor

Automated reasoning, optimization, algorithms, artificial intelligence

Constraint Reasoning and Optimization
Jussi Kangasharju Professor Edge computing, cloud computing, networking Collaborative Networking (CoNe)
Jyrki Kivinen Professor Machine learning, algorithms Machine Learning
Arto Klami Associate Professor

Machine learning, artificial intelligence, data science

Multi-source Probabilistic Inference
Mikko Koivisto Professor Algorithms, machine learning Sums of Products
Jiaheng Lu Professor Databases, data management Unified Database Management Systems
Michael Mathioudakis Assistant Professor

Computational social science, data mining

Algorithmic Data Science
Tommi Mikkonen Professor Software systems, programmable world Empirical Software Engineering
Ville Mustonen Professor Bioinformatics Bioinformatics and Evolution
Petri Myllymäki Professor, Director of HIIT Artificial intelligence, machine learning, probabilistic models Complex Systems Computation (CoSCo)
Veli Mäkinen Professor Algorithmic bioinformatics, succinct data structures Genome-scale algorithmics
Tomi Männistö Professor Software engineering, software architecture, product variability  Empirical Software Engineering
Valtteri Niemi Professor, Vice-Head of Department Data security Secure Systems
Petteri Nurmi Associate Professor Internet of Things, distributed systems, sensing Pervasive Data Science
Jukka K. Nurminen Professor Distributed computing, energy-efficiency, intelligent systems software lifecycle, computational moral Empirical Software Engineering
Simon Puglisi Associate Professor Algorithms, data structures, data compression, scalability, algorithm engineering, data science, bioinformatics Compressed Data Structures
Kai Puolamäki Associate Professor

Data science, artificial intelligence, atmospheric sciences

Exploratory Data Analysis
Teemu Roos Professor Machine learning, data science Information, Complexity and Learning
Laura Ruotsalainen Associate Professor Spatiotemporal data, estimation, data science, machine learning Spatiotemporal Data Analysis
Sasu Tarkoma
Professor, Head of Department Distributed systems and data communications Content-centric structures and networking (COSN)
Nikolaj Tatti Associate Professor Data science, algorithms, statistical modelling, cyber security Data Analytics and Cyber Security
Hannu Toivonen Professor Data science, artificial intelligence, computational creativity Discovery group: Data Mining and Computational Creativity
Alexandru I. Tomescu Associate Professor Algorithmic bioinformatics, graph algorithms Graph Algorithms

Indrė Žliobaitė

Associate Professor Life science informatics, data science, macroevolution, palaeobiology Data Science and Evolution

Eme­ri­tus­ Pro­fes­so­rs

  • Martti Tienari, Computer Science 1969-1998, Head of Department 1967-1998
  • Esko Ukkonen, Computer Science 1985-2017, Head of Department 1998-1999 and 2010-2013
  • Jukka Paakki, Software Systems 1997-2016, Head of Department 2001-2006 and 2014-2015
  • Matti Mäkelä, Numerical Algorithms for Applied Mathematics 1998-2001
  • Seppo Sippu, Information Systems 1998-2011

Former Pro­fes­so­rs

  • Heikki Mannila, Computer Science, especially Information Systems 1989-1999
  • Kimmo Raatikainen, Theory of Programming and System Programming 1998-2008
  • Henry Tirri, Intelligent Systems 1998-2003, Teacher education in Computer Science 2000-2008
  • Eero Hyvönen, Computer Science, especially Programme for Upgrading Studies in Computer Science 1990-2004 
  • Inkeri Verkamo, Software Engineering 2002-2007
  • Samuel Kaski, Data Analysis and Its Applications in Bioinformatics 2004-2005
  • Pekka Abrahamsson, Software Quality and Quality Assurance 2009-2012
  • Jürgen Münch, Software Systems 2011-2015

Former Associate and Assistant Professors

  • Paavo Turakainen, 1970-1971
  • Yrjö Seppälä, 1974-1981
  • Kari-Jouko Räihä, 1984-1985
  • Eljas Soisalon-Soininen, 1986-1993
  • Pekka Orponen, 1994-1996